MAGAZIN4
   
 Current
 Past Exhibitions
 Publications
 About us
 Premises
 
   
 
September 4 - November 21, 2010
 
 
Attractive Abstraction
in Art and Architecture
 
     
  KRÜGER & PARDELLER
PAUHOF
PUBLIC SPACE WITH A ROOF (PSWAR)
 
 
 
  Opening: Friday, September 3, 2010, 7 pm
with a performance by Kruger & Pardeller with the
musician Nikolaj Hess
 
  Special: Saturday, October 2, 2010, Lange Nacht der Museen
with a performance by Krüger & Pardeller with the musician Nikolaj Hess
 
     
  Abstract form can no longer be perceived as non-relational or non- representative. By the very fact that today it will, also, and at all times, refer back to its own history, it establishes, in the final analysis, its own narration, and stands in contradistinction to its original endeavour of only ever referring to itself.

The potential of abstraction no longer lies in the attempt at finding exclusive answers; it presents itself, rather, in a manner of raising questions regarding a number of translation processes and variable, interactive links between production, reception and context, as seen in relation to their history. It is, therefore, these frequently obscured and not always immediately visible transformations, which have here become the subject of investigation.

Both the belief in a universal aesthetic brought about by abstraction, and the aim of revealing a transcendent order of things, can now be viewed only in a historical light. The desire to strive for a universal form is already contradicted by the single fact of the collaborative practice of all the participants in this exhibition, identifying their artistic production as an inter-subjective process.

In a manner comparable to the systems theoretical or linguistic approach, where a variety of subjects are broken down into abstract and yet alterable signifiers in the process of generating understanding, here the complexity of the socio-economic realities and their ever-increasing levels of abstraction is similarly scrutinised and put to the test.

The visualization of such translational and interpretational activities projects the idea of an unstable, variable object. The city, the economy, and language, all form starting points for an interest in something that is not ineluctably visible, but lies at the foundation of these built-up structures or sculptural objects and co-determines their reception.

The opening performance of Krüger & Pardeller, in conjunction with Danish pianist Nikolaj Hess, will be repeated for the Long Night of the Museums. Taking a given text as its starting point, a “machine” is being operated, resulting in the performance of a composition. Numerous translational steps lead to a code that lies at the heart of the performance, thus identifying abstraction as a subjective process of interpretation.

 
     
    Exhibition view Magazin4
Diashow / Gallery »

MAGAZIN4
   
 Aktuell
 Archiv
 Publikationen
 Wir über uns
 Räumlichkeiten
 
   
 
4. September – 21. November 2010
 
 
Attractive Abstraction
in Art and Architecture
 
     
 
KRÜGER & PARDELLER
PAUHOF
PUBLIC SPACE WITH A ROOF (PSWAR)
 
     
  Eröffnung: Freitag, 3. September 2010, 19.00 Uhr
mit einer Performance von Krüger & Pardeller mit dem
Musiker Nikolaj Hess
 
     
  Special: Samstag, 2. Oktober 2010, im Rahmen der Langen Nacht der Museen Live-Performance von Krüger & Pardeller mit dem Musiker Nikolaj Hess  
     
 

Abstrakte Form kann nicht länger als nicht-relational oder nicht-repräsentativ wahrgenommen werden. Indem sie heute immer auch auf ihre Geschichte rückverweist, etabliert sie letztlich ihre eigene Narration und steht ihrem ursprünglichen Streben, nur auf sich selbst zu verweisen, entgegen.

Das Potential von Abstraktion, liegt nicht mehr im Versuch, exklusive Antworten zu finden, sondern vielmehr darin, die zahlreichen Übersetzungsprozesse und wechselseitigen, variablen Verbindungen zwischen Produktion, Rezeption und Kontext in Bezug auf ihre Geschichte zu hinterfragen. Es sind somit die häufig im Verborgenen liegenden, nicht unmittelbar sichtbaren Transformationen, die hier zum Gegenstand der Untersuchung werden.

Sowohl der Glaube an eine universale Ästhetik durch Abstraktion, als auch das Ziel, eine transzendente Ordnung der Dinge zu offenbaren, kann nur noch in historischem Lichte gesehen werden. Dem Wunsch nach einer alllgemeingültigen Form, steht schon alleine die kollaborative Arbeitspraxis aller an der Ausstellung Beteiligten entgegen, die künstlerische Produktion als inter-subjektiven Prozess ausweist.

Vergleichbar mit der Systemtheorie oder der Linguistik, wo veränderliche Systeme auf abstrakte und zugleich variable Signifikanten der Bedeutungsbildung heruntergebrochen werden, wird die Komplexität sozio-ökonomischer Realitäten und deren zunehmendes Abstraktionsniveau hinterfragt.
Das Sichtbarmachen dieser Übersetzungs- und Interpretationshandlungen, entwirft die Idee eines instabilen, variablen Objekts. Stadt, Ökonomie und Sprache bilden Ausgangspunkte für das Interesse an dem nicht zwangsläufig Sichtbaren, das den gebauten oder skulpturalen Objekten zugrunde liegt und ihre Rezeption mitbestimmt.

Die Eröffnungsperformance von Krüger & Pardeller mit dem dänischen Pianisten Nikolaj Hess wird für die Lange Nacht der Museen wiederholt. Ausgehend von einem Text wird eine „Maschine“ bedient und eine Komposition aufgeführt. Zahlreiche Übersetzungsschritte führen zu einem Code, der der Performance zugrunde liegt und Abstraktion als subjektiven Interpretationsprozess ausweist.

 
           
      Ausstellungsansichten
Magazin4
Diashow / Gallery »