MAGAZIN4
   
 Current
 Past Exhibitions
 Publications
 About us
 Premises
 
   
 
5 September – 22 November 2015
 
 
Das Als-ob-Prinzip.
(The as-if-principle.)

About esthetic maneuvers and categories as ideological construct
 
     
  (curated by Sabine Winkler, with Miriam Bajtala, Adriana Bustos, Sophie Dvořák, Mehmet Fahraci, Ellen Gallagher, Jan Peter Hammer, Ulrik Heltoft/Miljohn Ruperto, Antonia Hirsch, Liz Magic Laser, Adrian Melis, Rachel Reupke, Jonas Staal)  
     
  Opening: Friday, 4 September, 7 pm  
     
 

The exhibition engages itself in the »to-act-as-if« and the »to-be-as-if« in artistic and socio-political systems. The as-if-principle points to the uncleared zones between fiction and reality. Those possibilities reside betwixt the form of both art and politics as well as past, present and future. In Jacques Rancières esthetic regime, art differs from reality because of an as-if-formed difference devised by the artists.
On the one hand the as-if-principle is deployed as an ideological strategy to constitute actuality and control the future. On the other hand as esthetic maneuver to intervene in the split of the sensual and its rearrangement. The artistic works analyze categorical mechanisms of allocation and determination to question systems of classification.

 
   
   
   
Jonas Staal, Monument to Capital – Part II / Historicizing the Future: A Proposal, (Detail) 2013, Leuchtkasten 84 × 59 cm, Tonspur 3:58 min, Courtesy the artist

MAGAZIN4
   
 Aktuell
 Archiv
 Publikationen
 Wir über uns
 Räumlichkeiten
 
   
 

5. September - 22. November 2015

 
 
Das Als-ob-Prinzip.
Über ästhetische Manöver und Kategorien als ideologisches Konstrukt
 
     
  (kuratiert von Sabine Winkler mit Miriam Bajtala, Adriana Bustos, Sophie Dvořák, Mehmet Fahraci, Ellen Gallagher, Jan Peter Hammer, Ulrik Heltoft/Miljohn Ruperto, Antonia Hirsch, Liz Magic Laser, Adrian Melis, Rachel Reupke, Jonas Staal)  
     
  Eröffnung: Freitag 4. September, 19 Uhr  
     
 

Die Ausstellung befasst sich mit dem »So-tun-als-ob« und dem »So-sein-als-ob« in künstlerischen und gesellschaftspolitischen Systemen. Das Als-ob-Prinzip verweist auf die ungeklärte Zone zwischen Fiktivem und Realität und jene dazwischen befindlichen Möglichkeiten, die sowohl Kunst und Politik prägen als auch Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft. Im ästhetischen Regime Jacques Rancières unterscheidet sich die Kunst von der Realität durch eine von den KünstlerInnen in Form des Als-ob konstruierten Differenz.
Das Als-ob-Prinzip wird einerseits als ideologische Strategie eingesetzt, um Wirklichkeit zu konstituieren und Zukunft zu kontrollieren, andererseits als ästhetisches Manöver, um in die Aufteilung des Sinnlichen und in ihre Umgestaltung einzugreifen. Die künstlerischen Arbeiten analysieren kategoriale Zuweisungs- und Festschreibungsmechanismen, um Zuordnungssysteme in Frage zu stellen.

 

 

 
 

Jonas Staal, Monument to Capital – Part II / Historicizing the Future: A Proposal, (Detail) 2013, Leuchtkasten 84 × 59 cm, Tonspur 3:58 min, Courtesy the artist